Cannes film Festival 2019 : Rocketman, Xavier Dolan, Pedro Almodovar… here is the official selection

Festival de Cannes 2019 : Rocketman, Xavier Dolan, Pedro Almodovar... voici la sélection officielle

Cannes film Festival 2019 : Rocketman, Xavier Dolan, Pedro Almodovar… here is the official selection

In less than a month, the Croisette will welcome the stars to the shovel at the Cannes film Festival 2019. But what celebrities are expected to attend the red carpet of the 14 to 25 next may ? This Thursday, 18 April, Pierre Lescure and Thierry Frémaux announced the official selection of the 72nd edition of the festival with the film Rocketman in out-of-competition or even the new films by Xavier Dolan and Pedro Almodovar.

Each year, it is THE rendez-vous not to be missed for all fans of cinema but also, rhinestones and sequins : the Cannes film Festival ! This year, it is from 14 to 25 may this year that the celebrities put their suitcases on the Croisette. After A family affair sacred Palme d’or in 2018 and BlacKkKlansman who had received the Grand prize, which will be the movies that is acclaimed by 2019 ? Before you know it, it’s the official selection !


The Dead Don’t Die by Jim Jarmusch with Bill Murray, Adam Driver, Chloë Sevigny and Selena Gomez presented in the film’s opening
Pain and glory of Pedro Almodovar with Antonio Banderas and Penelope Cruz
Il Traditore (The traitor) by Marco Bellocchio
Nan Fang Che Zhna Ju-Hui (The Wild Goose Lake) by Diao Yinan
Parasite Bong Joon Ho (director, Okja)
The young Ahmed , Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne
Roubaix, a light of Arnaud Depleschin with Roschdy Zem, Léa Seydoux and Sara Forestier
Atlantic Mati Diop
Matthias and Maxime Xavier Dolan
Little Joe Jessica Hausner
Sorry We Missed You Ken Loach
The Wretched of Ladj Ly
A hidden life by Terrence Malik
Bacurau of Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles
La Gomera by Corneliu Porumboiu
Frankie de Ira Schs with Isabelle Hupert, Marisa Tomei and Greg Kinnear
Portrait of the girl on fire from Céline Sciamma with Adele Haenel
It Must Be Heaven , Elia Suleiman
Sibyl Justin Triet, with Virginie Efira, Adèle Exarchopoulos and Gaspard Ulliel

A certain look

Vida Invisivel Karim Aïnouz
Dylda of Kantemir Balagov
The swallows of Kabul of Zabout Breitman and Gobé Mévellec
The wife of my brother of Monia Chokri
The Climb of Michael Covino
Jeanne Bruno Dumont
Will come the fire of Olivier Laxe
Room 212 from Christophe Honoré with Camille Cottin, Benjamin Biolay and Vincent Lacoste
Port Authority of Danielle Lessovitz
Papicha of Mounia Meddour
Adam Maryam Touzani
Zhuo Ren Mi Mi Midi Z
Evge Nariman Aliev
Freedom of Albert Serra
Bull of Annie Silverstein
Liu Yu Tian Zu Feng


The most beautiful years of the life of Claude Lelouch
Rocketman Dexter Fletcher with Taron Egerton, Richard Madden and Jamie Bell
Series Too Old Too Die Young by Nicolas Winding Refn
Diego Maradona of Asif Kapadia
The belle epoque of Nicolas Bedos, with Daniel Auteuil, Guillaume Canet, and Fanny Ardant

Special sessions

Share of Pippa Bianco
For Sama of wa’ad Al Kateab and Edward Watts
Family Romance, LLC of Werner Herzog
Tommaso de Abel Ferrara
Living being and the knowledge of Alain Cavalier

It should be noted that Alain Delon will receive this year an honorary Palme d’or. Other movies could be added to the list by the beginning of the Festival. This is Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu, who will be the jury President this year, and no other juror has been announced for the moment.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *