China suspends extradition agreements between Hong Kong and three western countries

La Chine suspend les accords d'extradition entre Hong Kong et trois pays occidentaux

BEIJING | China has announced Tuesday the suspension of the extradition arrangements between Hong Kong and three western countries (Canada, Australia, United Kingdom), who had criticized the imposition by Beijing of a controversial law on security in the autonomous territory.

This retaliatory measure of Beijing seems to be largely symbolic, because these States had already suspended unilaterally these treaties in protest against the new legislation in force since 30 June in the former british colony.

“These mistaken actions (…) have seriously undermined the foundations of judicial cooperation”, said at a regular press conference Wang Wenbin, a spokesman for the chinese ministry of foreign Affairs.

“China has decided to suspend the extradition treaty between Hong Kong and Canada, Australia and the United Kingdom, as well as agreements of cooperation in the field of criminal justice”, he stressed.

Several western countries, the United States, have called on China to withdraw its national security bill in Hong Kong.

This new legislation is the fear in the opposition democrat local a severe setback in freedoms in force in the territory of 7.5 million people, returned to China in 1997.

For Beijing, it is officially with this law, ensure stability, to put an end to the vandalism that has been punctuated with protests pro-democracy of 2019 in the region, as well as to suppress the current activist for the independence.

Since 1997, Hong Kong enjoys a large autonomy in relation to mainland China led by the communist Party. Its residents enjoy, in particular, freedom of expression, freedom of the press and an independent judiciary.

Share Button