COVID: the Atlantic provinces are launching a “bubble interprovincial”

COVID: les provinces de l’Atlantique lancent une «bulle interprovinciale»

The provinces of Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Prince Edward island and Nova Scotia will form a “bubble of the Atlantic” within which their citizens can get around without having to adhere to the rules put in place in the context of the pandemic of the COVID-19.

This is what announced on Wednesday that these provinces of atlantic Canada in a desire to reduce the restrictions. Thus, their nationals will not have to self-isolate when they travel in this big bubble, unlike the citizens of other provinces, and this, on 3 July.

“As to visitors from other provinces and territories of Canada, they must comply with the access requirements of each of the four provinces, a-t-are specified in a joint statement. Other canadian visitors in the maritime Provinces that are isolated for 14 days and can travel within the Maritimes region.”

It must be said that the number of cases of the COVID-19 remain at a low level in each of these provinces. L’île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve have had no new cases for weeks, while the other two provinces announce rarely more than one per day.

The measure announced Wednesday was made based on the advice of the chief medical officer of health of each of the provinces, a-t-on said, adding that the situation will be closely followed.

“Families will be able to travel during their summer vacation, which will stimulate the sectors of tourism and business”, he said premier Stephen McNeil in a press release.

Some restrictions, however, remain in place. For example, a citizen who was made to recommend to insulate or which is pending an outcome of screening test for the coronavirus cannot afford to travel from one province to another, has tempered the prime minister of New Brunswick, Blaine Higgs.

“We will collect the information of travel, in order to be able to do a follow-up in case of an outbreak”, he added.

Share Button