Residents of Fermont, Blanc-Sablon, Wabush and Labrador City can now move from one province to the other

Les résidents de Fermont, de Blanc-Sablon, de Wabush et de Labrador City peuvent dorénavant circuler d’une province à l’autre

QUEBEC | The citizens of Fermont and Blanc-Sablon, Quebec, and Wabush, and Labrador City, Newfoundland and Labrador, are now allowed to move from one province to the other if they fulfil certain conditions, which do not show any symptoms of the COVID-19.

This blurring occurs as a result of the acceptance by the newfoundland government at the request of the municipalities of Fermont and Blanc-Sablon to allow their residents to go to the Labrador.

“The management of the pandemic of the COVID-19 had generated uncertainty as to the possibility, for the residents of this area, to circulate more freely between the neighbouring communities,” explained the Quebec government on Saturday, saying rejoice at the recent decision of the prime minister of Newfoundland and Labrador, Dwight Ball, to acquiesce to the request.

“In order to be able to move between the two provinces, residents will no longer have to isolate themselves if they do not show symptoms of the COVID-19 and if they have not travelled outside of Quebec and Newfoundland-and-Labrador in the 14 days prior to their passage between the two provinces, mentioned Quebec in a press release. Recall that the residents of Labrador can also move freely to Quebec.”

The control point established between Fermont and the communities of Wabush and Labrador City will remain in place to ensure a follow-up movements between the two provinces. The Basse-Côte-Nord for its part, has been removed, Thursday, at the end of the day.

Share Button