USA and Canada imposed new sanctions against Russia

США и Канада ввели новые санкции против РФ

The sanctions were imposed because of the seizure of the ships in the Kerch Strait

The U.S. Treasury Department imposed sanctions against six people and eight Russian organizations because of a Russian attack on Ukrainian ships in the Kerch Strait in November 2018. About it reported in a press-service of the U.S. Treasury, reports the with reference to

“This joint initiative with our partners in the European Union and Canada reinforces our shared commitment to the introduction of purposeful and meaningful sanctions in response to the Kremlin’s attempts to ignore international norms and undermine the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine”, – said the head of the U.S. Treasury Steven Mnuchin.

In the sanctions list, in particular, were the Deputy Chairman of the border service of FSB Gennady Medvedev, head of the control command of the Federal security service of Crimea Ruslan Romashkin, head of the border Department of the FSB in the Crimea and Sevastopol rear Admiral Sergei Stankevich and his Deputy Andrew Shein. In addition, in the sanctions list includes the Deputy Chairman “of the CEC DND” Alexey Naidenko and Secretary “of the CEC of DNR” Vladimir Vysotsky.

The sanctions hit businesses “Oceanpribor”, the plant “Fiolent”, konstruktorsko-technological Bureau “Sudokompozit” the company “New projects”, construction company “Consol-Stroy LTD”, machine-building plant “Zvezda”, Yaroslavl shipyard and Zelenodolsk plant named after Gorky.

At the same time, the press service of the government of Canada say that canadian sanctions against Russia concern the 114 individuals and 15 companies.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *